Monday, August 10, 2009

patient versus nurse

quite a bit has been going down since i moved in with gabi this month. i'm not quite sure where to begin but as you all know i will just begin rambling and hope to stop sometime before lunch...\
we had jsut been going through a marathon of everyone leaving - hero holiday, josh and kirstin, kara, kyle etc when finally, sunday august 2 rolled around which means RANA. so i woke up nice and early to make sure i didnt miss her flight but i could barely walk, my whole body ached, my skin hurt to be touched, my head was pounding, my stomach hurt etc etc... so i just assumed i was a little tired so i went with mama D and jimmyjames to the airport to get rana (doubled over, laying on the ground when possible, shivering everytime the wind blew...) but soo excited to see ranita and meet her friends that were coming down. so we got them all sorted out and i just went home and layed in bed for the rest of the day with the beginnings of a fiebre (fever) and everytime i would stand up i would practically fall back down. that night i slept (off and on) with a blanket off and on because i just couldnt decide - and my friends took shifts checking on me.
the next morning was nazaret clinic day so donna decided to take me for some blood work and then up to the clinic, where they immediately threw me on the bed and hooked up 'un suero' (an IV) and i wasnt allowed to move all day. then int he afternoon they got my test results back and were sure i had dengue fever so i was sent to a hospital in puerto plata (everyone gets mad when i call it a hospital because here that means a place you basically go to die, so i was sent to a private clinic). i ended up going through 9 IV's i believe from 7 that first night to 4 the next day, had a fever of 102+ (even though the nurse said "no fever"). they did some tests to show that i didnt have dengue but instead had a bad kidney infection (un infeccion de los rinones) - we ended up having some issues with this hospital overcharging me for things i never had and it was a very expensive overnight experience but i hopefully have the right paperwork for insurance to help me out...
then on wednesday i had a bunch of house guests (people came all the way down from nazaret to check on me - probably spent their weeks worth of wages to do so) and every friend that i have practically ever met came to see how i was. its a really big thing in their culture that i am just learning about (and loving, since i hate to be alone), and if people couldnt make it in to see me they called or sent someone else.
so i had just been taking it easy for a couple days (nobody would let me do anything - rather annoying if you know me) and on friday i was feeling good so i went to find my friends that work in the emergency room in puerto plata. unfortunately they werent working that day and by the time i got home i was back in bed, with another wicked fiebre, this time struggling to breath, my whole body started tingling and i could only cry - which again if you know me, you know is something that i dont do. even when i broke my pelvis i only cried because i didnt want to ride in the ambulance hah..
this time they checked me into a brand new clinic here in sosua (5 minute walk from my house) and they did a whole bunch of other gross tests and found out i had an ovarian cyst that ruptured as well and if i hadnt gotten in when i did, then i would have needed emergency surgery. so they made me stay in for two days to keep an eye on me and to continue doing tests and such. luckily, yesterday morning they came in and said i was doing well enough to leave. so i just have a check-up on wednesday and until then i am pracitcally on house arrest which is VERY annoying just incase anyone wanted to know (im sitting out by the pool write now to write this but shh dont tell, gabi is still sleeping).
so i am feeling a lot better. thank you all for praying. and if someone is reading this and had no idea i was sick it is because i didnt tell anyone. my friend called the parents while i was in the hospital.
basically i just think this experience was another thing to add to the list of things i can understand for when i am a nurse. i will know how it feels, the singns and symptoms, where not to push or touch etc. i probably wont even need anymore formal school training., at the rate im going, i could have these sicknesess down in a couple years... (just kidding - no more hospitals or clinics for me - unless im the one working in it)

No comments:

Post a Comment